Guided tour : salt history

Description

The central Pesquiers pond and the Redon marsh cover nearly 1,360 acres. Until 1995, the Compagnie du Midi used to exploit half this surface to produce 30,000 tons of salt yearly. In 2001, the marshes became the property of the Coastline Conservatory. It has received the protection label “humid zone of national importance”. Hyères’ salt marshes have been recognised as one of the most remarkable natural landscapes in the Var region; however they remain a fragile ecosystem used as a temporary halt for migratory birds and a permanent shelter for sedentary species. Colonies of pink flamingos live there and over 260 other bird species have also been spotted around the salt marshes, including puffins, pied avocets, grey plovers and black-winged stilts.

Classification/labels

  • Open air
  • Guided tour in the heart of town and village
  • Historic

Spoken languages

  • French

Location

Calculate my itinerary


Prices

Adult: 9 €, Child: 4 € (from 6 to 12 years old).

Free entry for children < 6 years.

Means of payment

  • Bank/credit card
  • Cheque
  • Chèques Vacances
  • Cash
  • Credit transfer

Event date

Thursday 14 February 2019 between 2.30 PM and 4 PM.

Thursday 21 February 2019 between 2.30 PM and 4 PM.

Thursday 28 February 2019 between 2.30 PM and 4 PM.

Thursday 7 March 2019 between 2.30 PM and 4 PM.

Thursday 11 April 2019 between 2.30 PM and 4 PM.

Thursday 18 April 2019 between 2.30 PM and 4 PM.

Friday 3 May 2019 between 2.30 PM and 4 PM.

Thursday 23 May 2019 between 2.30 PM and 4 PM.

Thursday 20 June 2019 between 10 AM and 11.30 AM.

Thursday 27 June 2019 between 10 AM and 11.30 AM.

From 02/07 to 30/07/2019, every Tuesday between 6 PM and 7.30 PM.

From 06/08 to 27/08/2019, every Tuesday between 6 PM and 7.30 PM.

Thursday 5 September 2019 between 10 AM and 11.30 AM.

Thursday 19 September 2019 between 10 AM and 11.30 AM.

Thursday 24 October 2019 between 2.30 PM and 4 PM.

Thursday 31 October 2019 between 2.30 PM and 4 PM.

Subject to favorable weather. Cancelled in case of bad weather.